The Division presently employs some 40 staff members, comprising mainly entomologists, plant pathologists, plant ecologists, technicians and support staff.

Name

Qualifications

Research field

Contact details

Price, Roger (Acting Programme Manager)

Ph.D.

Locust management and control; biological control of crop pests

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: +27 (0)12 356 9817
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: PriceR@arc.agric.za

Bownes, Angela

Ph.D.

Biocontrol of hydrilla and other aquatic weeds

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel. 27 (0)33 343 8288
Fax 27 (0)33 355 9423
E-mail: BownesA@arc.agric.za

Den Breeyen, Alana

Ph.D.

Biological control of pompom and parthenium weeds using pathogens

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail: DenBreeyenA@arc.agric.za

Dube, Nontembeko

M.Sc.

Biological control of chromolaena

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel. 27 (0)33 355 9413
Fax 27 (0)33 355 9423
E-mail: DubeN@arc.agric.za

Gareeb, Milly

M.Sc.

Biological control of parthenium and chromolaena

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel: 27 (0)33 355-9415
Fax: 27 (0)33 355-9423
E-mail: gareebm@arc.agric.za

Goodall, Jeremy M.

M.Sc.

Ecology of invasive plants. Chemical and integrated control of alien invasive plants

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel: 27 (0)33 355-9413
Fax: 27 (0)33 355-9423
E-mail: goodallj@arc.agric.za

Gordon, J.A. (Tony)

M.Sc., N. Dip.

Biological control of hakeas and Australian myrtle

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail: gordont@arc.agric.za

Henderson, Lesley

B.Sc. (Hons)

Geographical surveys of alien invasive plants

Private Bag X101, Pretoria, 0001
Tel: 27 (0)12 843-5035
Fax: 27 (0)12 804-3211
E-Mail:L.Henderson@sanbi.org.za

Heystek, Fritz

M.Sc.

Biological control of Ageratina and lantana

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9845
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: heystekf@arc.agric.za

Impson, Fiona

(seconded from UCT)

M.Sc.

Biological control of Australian acacias, prosopis and Australian pest pear

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail: impsonf@arc.agric.za

King, Anthony

M.Sc.

Biological control of aquatic weeds and cat's claw creeper

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9835
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: KingA@arc.agric.za

Kistensamy, Yogie

N.Dip.

Biological control of Ageratina adenophora.
Nursery manager

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9846
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: kistensamyy@arc.agric.za

Klein, Hildegard

M.Sc., H.E.D.

 

Biological control of cactus weeds, eucalypts and lantana. General enquiries

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9841
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: kleinh@arc.agric.za

Madire, Lulu G.

 

M.Sc.

Biological control of yellow bells, cat's claw creeper, lantana, hakeas and Australian myrtle

P/Bag X134, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9851
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: madirel@arc.agric.za

Malatji, Khotso

N. Dip.

Biological control of Tithonia spp., balloon vine and lantana

P/Bag X134, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9848
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: MatjilaK@arc.agric.za

Mawela, Khethani

M.Sc.

Biological control of Tithonia spp., balloon vine and lantana

P/Bag X134, Pretoria 0001
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9858
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: MawelaK@arc.agric.za

McConnachie, Andrew

Ph.D.

Biological control of pompom weed and parthenium

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel: 27 (0)33 355-9421
Fax: 27 (0)33 355-9423
E-mail: McConnachieA@arc.agric.za

Mlokoti, Thembelihle

B.Sc. Hons.

Biological control of Australian acacias

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail:MlokotiT@arc.agric.za

Mpedi, Philimon

B. Tech.

Use of eriophyid mites for the biological control of lantana. Biological control of balloon vine.

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9848
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: mpedip@arc.agric.za

Mudavanhu, Pride

Ph.D.

Biological control of Australian acacias

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail:MudavanhuP@arc.agric.za

Neser, Stefan (retired)

Ph.D. Pr.Sci.Nat.

Surveys for natural enemies. Biological control of hakea, Australian acacias, leucaena and Cape ivy.

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9842
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: nesers@arc.agric.za

Netshiluvhi, Mukonazwothe

B.Inst.Agrar (Hons.)

Biological control of yellow bells and other invasive alien plant species

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9862
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: MukonaN@arc.agric.za

Nongogo, Ayanda X

B.Sc. Hons.

Integrated and biological control of aquatic plants. Biological control of Mother of millions (Bryophyllum delagoense) and Sporobolus pyramidalis

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9848
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: NongogoA@arc.agric.za

Sambo, Sakhi

B.Tech.

Biological control of parthenium and pompom weed

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel. 27 (0)33 355 9413
Fax 27 (0)33 355 9423
E-mail: SamboS@arc.agric.za

Samuels, Gwen A.

 

The use of fungi to control hakea, Port Jackson acacia, black wattle and other weeds.

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail: samuelsg@arc.agric.za

Simelane, David

Ph.D.

Biological control of Tithonia spp., balloon vine and lantana

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9839
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: simelaned@arc.agric.za

Sithole, Slindile B

B.Sc.

Biological control of chromolaena

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel. 27 (0)33 355 9413
Fax 27 (0)33 355 9423
E-mail: SitholeS@arc.agric.za

Strathie, Lorraine

M.Sc.

Biological control of parthenium, chromolaena and prosopis

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel: 27 (0)33 355-9421
Fax: 27 (0)33 355-9423
E-mail: strathiel@arc.agric.za

Urban, Alan J. (retired)

Ph.D. Pr.Sci.Nat.

 

Biological control of lantana. Forest entomology.

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9843
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: urbana@arc.agric.za

van der Westhuizen, Liamé

B.Sc. (Agric.)
M.Sc.

Biological control of Argemone spp., Anredera cordifolia and Cape ivy. Pasture science

P/Bag X134, Queenswood, Pretoria 0121
Tel: 27 (0)12 356-9837
Fax: 27 (0)12 329 3278
E-mail: vdwesthuizenl@arc.agric.za

Viljoen, Ben D. (retired)

N.Dip.

Chemical and integrated control of nassella, satansbos, prosopis, wattles, tamarisk and other weeds

P.O. Box 330, Uitenhage 6230.
Tel: 27 (0)41 966-1465
Fax: 27 (0)41 966-1467
E-mail: viljoenb@arc.agric.za

Wood, Alan R.

Ph.D

Use of fungi to control Tecoma stans, Cardiospermum grandiflorum, Cladophora glomerata, Hakea sericea, Australian Acacia spp, Chrysanthemoides monilifera, and Striga spp.

P/Bag X5017, Stellenbosch 7600
Tel: 27 (0)21 887-4690
Fax: 27 (0)21 883-3285
E-mail: wooda@arc.agric.za

Zachariades, Costas

Ph.D.

Biological control of chromolaena and prosopis

P/Bag X6006, Hilton 3245
Tel: 27 (0)33 355-9418
Fax: 27 (0)33 355-9423
E-mail: zachariadesc@arc.agric.za